Korean Series · Life

Mental Diseases

Lately, I watched few series where the lead actors have a “mental disease”.

From Asian Series :

  1. Kill Me, Heal Me (2015) – ongoing
  2. Hyde, Jekyll, and I (2015) – ongoing
  3. Heart To Heart (2015) – not yet watched; so, I’m not gonna discuss it now.
  4. It’s Okay, That’s Love (2014) – completed

From West Series :

  1. Perception (2012) – completed

Kill Me, Heal Me & Hyde, Jekyll, and I – both lead actors have DID (Dissociative Identity Disorder). Since the latest series that I just finished watched was It’s Okay, That’s Love, therefore I’m just gonna discuss about it.

It’s Okay, That’s Love

Based in a mental clinic, this drama portrays the life and love of modern day people. Love can sprout from the most unexpected places and in the most crowded minds.

Jang Jae Yul (Jo In Sung) is a famous mystery novelist and popular radio DJ who suffers from obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD). When he meets Ji Hae Soo (Gong Hyo Jin), a first-year psychiatry fellow at the hospital where he is being treated, they help each other work through their deep-rooted emotional issues. But how will Jo Dong Min (Sung Dong Il), Hae Soo’s senior colleague and first love, and Lee Pul Ip (Yoon Jin Yi), Jae Yul’s girlfriend, feel about their growing closeness?

Why this series more interesting for me ? There are so many patients, with various mental diseases. It adds more knowledge which I can’t find at school. Of course, I didn’t attend any med-school. LOL.  The lead actor Jo In Sung, suffers “schizophrenia”. I knew this word “schizophrenia” after ‘he’ introduced me Perception series. Thank you.  I really enjoyed it. Miss that series though. At first, nothing much, spending time and watching mental disease, I thought “Wow, such a genius, with schizophrenia, he helped so many criminal problems”. Nothing much. Not a glimpse, I’m trying to find out about this disease. But, after watched KMHM, HJI, and IOTL, put a lot of interests at me. There are so many factors make people have mental diseases, and those diseases are varies too. For example, in IOTL, guilty feeling towards his elder brother, made his brother have to be in jail for 14 years instead of his mother that made a crime to kill his step fathers whom always abuse his mother, his brother, and him.

Beside gaining some knowledge of mental diseases, at the last episode, I get a lesson of life too. Instead of asking other people, why don’t we ask ourselves? “Are you really okay?” Instead of saying a good night to other people, have we ever say a good night to ourselves? “Good night, Kurniawaty.”

So many problems in our lives, so many burdens we have to carried out, in some point we actually really don’t think we can pass through it. At last, we always to keep in mind, we can do it, we can get through it. Without anybody to share all these problems and burdens, it is really hard. Really. Sometimes, we also really want to give up, feeling want to crying out loud, screaming out load. But, can’t do it.  I experienced all those.  Just hope, it doesn’t affect my mental at all. LOL.

And to dear all my friends, if any of you, have any problems, would you like to share with us ? Even though, we are not really can help much, but at least let us hear you, can’t we?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

